Friday, December 11, 2009

{ECO Lighting} Mushroom Lamp

This light is perfect for the eco trendy home! The mushroom lamp is a unique twist on a familiar shape. The cocoa leaf shade tops a sustainably grown santol fruit tree wood base. The dimensions are 13x13x24 inches.

Price: $90

Friday, November 13, 2009

{Hem Tape} for denim

No time to hit the tailor? Double stick Hem Tape for denim is an easy no-iron, no-cut way to temporarily hem jeans.

Wear new too-long jeans instantly and test run a new length before tailoring.

Switch between lengths on the same jeans to wear with heels and flats.

Change with the trends and use to roll, cuff or crop jeans, pants or shorts.

Works great on most fabrics and won't leave behind sticky residue.

18 pieces in 1 durable width per pack. Perfect for travel and on the go fixes.

Price: $12
Buy Here

A CUP--Hand Stamped Oxidized Sterling Silver Disc Necklace

I guarantee you that no one else will give the same gift as you. Give to a friend for her birthday or as a bridal shower gift. This is sure to get lots of laughs!

This necklace is part of a collection celebrating boobs. Plain and simple. If you don't see your cup size, it's only because it hasn't been added added yet, but it's coming!

So you're a A Cup? Ok so your cup doesn't runneth over. Nothing wrong with the perfect pour. Famous A Cups--Kate Hudson, Natalie Portman, Paris Hilton, Keira Knightley, Kate Moss.

Sterling disc measure 1/2". Sterling necklace measures 16" long, but is available 18" as well. Necklace will be shipped 16" unless noted otherwise during checkout. The chains I use are very durable so they will not break easily from rough play!

All items are cleaned in tumbler in special solution to ensure maximum shine. Pieces are sent in our black poesie/leather pendant or ring box. Then it is enclosed in white gift box with Metal Taboo logo and finished with red organza ribbon. Packaging is just as amazing as the item in it!

Shipping prices include delivery confirmation.
Price: $42
Buy Here

Squiggle Monthiversary Onesies

Babies grow at an astounding pace... soon their adorable newborn wrinkles give way to squirrelly cheeks and unbearably cute leg chub. There are 12 onsies in this package. (for the 12 months - dah!)

Make sure not to miss the chance to document their transition from newborn to infant to toddler. Believe me, you will be so happy you did.
Celebrate your baby's "monthiversary" by photographing them in this set of 5 onesies. Each onesie is made with love using 100% cotton Carter's brand bodysuits using high quality transfer paper. Each onesie has a month indicated on the front.

The sizing is based off of the manufacturer's specifications for age/weight. These make wonderful baby shower gifts!

Washing instructions: Machine wash inside out with warm water. Dry immediately, low heat. Never, ever iron.
Price: $70
Buy Here

Thursday, July 9, 2009

{Beach & Sports} Top 10 Sunscreens

Choose from among the top rated sunscreens for broad spectrum protection with fewer hazardous ingredients. And follow this sun safety tips to protect your skin for a lifetime.

Does your sunscreen work? EWG's investigation of 485 beach and sport sunscreens finds that 3 out of 5 contain chemicals that may pose health hazards or don't adequately protect skin from the sun's damaging rays. Some of the worst offenders are leading brands like Coppertone, Banana Boat, and Neutrogena.

1. Soleo Organics Sunscreen, chemical free, SPF 30+
2. Badger Sunscreen, SPF 30
3. Purple Prairie Botanicals Sun Stuff, SPF 30
4. UV Natural Sunscreen, SPF 30+
5. Mexitan Sunscreen Lotion, SPF 50
6. Lavera Sunscreen Neutral, SPF 40
7. California Baby Sunscreen Lotion No Fragrance, SPF 30+
8. MyChelle Sun Shield SPF 28
9. Little Forest Sunscreen Lotion For Babies and Kids, SPF 30+
10. Trukid Facestick Mineral Sunscreen UVA/B, SPF 30+

See full article here.

Tuesday, July 7, 2009

{icueyewear.com} Fun & Fancy Reading Glasses










These reading glasses are the bomb! They have many different colors and styles. Get yourself a pair of these fun reading glasses. You'll be the envy of all your friends!
Price: $22.95
Buy Here

Wednesday, July 1, 2009

{wrybaby.com} I Might Barf Onesie

















This is a new one! I thought it was so cute. It's their best selling snapsuit and so funny because it's true. Every parent can appreciate this wardrobe staple.
Price: $24
Buy Here

Tuesday, June 30, 2009

{iloveuma.com} Stainless Key Holder

I love this modern key holder. It's made by Blomus and comes in Stainless Steel. Perfect for helping you keep track of your keys, even when you can't. Easily mounts to any wall with included hardware. Dimensions: 8.25" L x 2.35" H x 1.37"
Price: $27

{Sqeaker Sneakers} Girls Skeaky Sandals

My grand daughters each have a pair of these adorable squeaky sandals. Yes, that's correct - they actually squeak! This pair is chocolate brown in color with 3 light pink flowers on the toe strap of the shoe. A matching pink flower accents the velcro closure of the sandal.
A lovely green stem and leaves compliment the colors of this best selling squeaky sandal. They have tons of different designs and styles of sandals and shoes for both girls and boys. Check them out. They are darling!
Price: $27.95
Buy Here

Monday, June 29, 2009

Yep, we designed our background!

We did it! We found some great instructions online for uploading your own creations as backgrounds for blogs. We designed our own and uploaded it today. It was so much fun. You have to try it. Here are some instructions we hope you can follow:















How To Make Your Own Blog Background
You will need to design your background using any photo editing software you are comfortable with. I used Adobe Illustrator for this example but you could also use Paint Shop, Microsoft Publisher, MS PowerPoint, Adobe Photoshop, etc. If you don’t already use any of these you can go to http://www.paint.net/ and download a cool (and FREE) program to design with.

Start with a new screen using the same sizes as shown:
Next, open up all of the elements that you plan to use with your background. There are lots of scrapbooking websites that offer free digital graphics you can use. A good place to start is www.digiscrapdepot.com. Please follow all copyright laws and instructions on the sites to make certain it is a design you can use.

These are the elements I will be using for my blog background:
Next you need to put all of the basic elements onto your background. Be sure to keep the follow measurements in mind. You need to stretch and pull to make everything look just right.

This is my background.

Please note: If you are creating a 3 column background, you will want to make the center column at least 9 inches (or more) wide.

Uploading Your Background: You must have an account with http://www.photobucket.com/ to do this next step. After logging in to your Photo Bucket account, please go to your image gallery. You'll see the following box. You can upload your background. Make certain to chose reduce your image area to say 1 megabyte. This makes sure your background stretches to the length of your screen. I actually have a premimum account with them and purchased the 2 megabytes but think the 1 megabyte would have been fine. After you have finished uploading your background, you'll find it down with your other images. Now copy and past the Direct Link (see below).

With your image copied, you will need to follow these specific instructions as to how to apply it to your blog:

*Log in to your blog.

*Next go to customize, layout‚ then pick a new template‚ and choose the minima template.

*Then click on edit HTML to change a small portioin of your code. Scroll down and look for this text:

body {background:$bgcolor;margin:0; color:$textcolor; font:x-small Georgia Serif; font-size/* */:/**/small; font-size: /**/small; text-align: center;

Change that part of the code to say this:

body {background:$bgcolor;background-image:url(direct link goes here);background-position: center; background-repeat:no-repeat; background-attachment: fixed;margin:0; color:$textcolor; font:x-small Georgia Serif; font-size/* */:/**/small; font-size: /**/small; text-align: center;

Now, use the direct link from your photobucket image and insert it between the parentheses where is says "direct link goes here" and click preview. If it looks correct you can now click SAVE because you are finished!

Recycled 45 Records as Holiday Ornaments!

Set of three Holiday Ornaments - 45rpm adapter in each. Each old record ornament is double-sided. Chrome bead-chain hanging loop. Packaged in clear box w/hang-tab. Makes for the perfect Unique Green Gift. Made in the U.S.A. out of recycled 45rpm records. 4" diameter.
Price: $15.99
Buy Here

Eco Sippy Cups

12 oz. Klean Kanteen Sippy Cup in the color Orange Sunset.
Time to recycle, "Mr. Plastic Sippy!" Klean Kanteen® was introduced in 2004 to encourage better health, hydration, and environmental responsibility. The Klean Kanteen 12 oz. Stainles Sippy Cup is designed for small hands. The sippy adapter and spouts are made from safe, non-leaching polypropylene (pp#5) 2 Avent, leak resistant, spouts included.

Bottle Features: • high-quality food grade 304 L.N. (18/8) stainless steel • a safe alternative to plastic sippy cups • durable, reusable, and 100% recyclable • lightweight, weighs only 4 ounces • slim design fits most cup/bottle holders • measures 5" H x 2.75" W (without cap) • BPA-free, non-leaching & toxin-free • lead free paint • no inner lining, clean tasting • wide mouth fits ice cubes • also accepts flat, loop and sport caps • dishwasher friendly

You can even customize your Klean Kanteen bottle! Check out other great selections of Klean Kanteen Accessories.

*Klean Kanteens are single walled and not for use with HOT liquids. *They do not recommend putting the Kanteen in the freezer and it will void the 1-year warranty against manufacturer defects.
Price: $18.20
Buy Here

Thursday, June 25, 2009

Recycled Bottle Cap Hair Clips

These bottle cap hair clips are precious! I couldn't resist and ordered a couple for my grand daughters. What's really cool - besides recycling bottle caps - is that NO TWO are alike as they get the designs from recycling pictures from magazines!

While trying to go green and finding ways to cut cost on buying many birthday gifts for her 4 year old daughters girlfriends, owner, Dawn started knitting frilly scarfs and wanted something cute to go with them. She decided after saving hundreds of bottle caps from family and friends that she would put them to use and make unique Bottle Cap hair clips.

The first Dawn made turned out so cute that she started spending hours making more. Each Bottle Cap hair clip has a design or pattern that comes from magazines that she recycles. Dawn loved seeing how each one had such a unique look and thought she would start selling them.
Price: $5
Buy Here

Wednesday, June 24, 2009

Scrubble - Interchangeable Bath Toy Scrub Set

Kids can practice scrubbing in the tub with this set of three interchangeable bulbs and textured attachments. For fun, fill the bulb with water and squeeze it out. The toys are easy to keep clean, just unscrew the parts—and they can even go in the dishwasher! What I really love about this company is that 10% of their profits are donated to children's charities. Check out other great kids products at boon inc.
Price: $9.99
Buy Here

Chirping Bird Paper Clip Magnet

Adorable meets functional with this cute little bird. Both kids and adults love it! 2" tall magnetized bird comes in assorted bright colors and patterns. Chirps when you pick it up, and holds up to twenty paper clips. Designed in France.
Price: $15
Buy Here

Wednesday, June 17, 2009

Pure Olive Oil Natural Soap

This soap is excelent for skin because is composed mainly of pure olive oil. Olive oil is the king of all soapmaking oils and fats. Emollient and conditioning, olive oil protects the skin while, at same time letting it "breathe" and mantains its natural moisture levels.

This soap has passed a long curing period of more than 10 weeks, so, the soaps become quite hard and long lasting. Olive oil soaps have excellent cleaning qualities. This kind of soaps are traditionally called "Castile soaps" and seems to have originated in the Castile region of Spain.

We use an antique recipe for this kind of soap, collected in this region. So, you can see is an authentic pure Castile soap. These soaps are aromatized with essential oils of Orange, Oregano and Jara. All they typical Spanish Aromas. One olive natural soap carefully packaged. Size is 2.85 oz (80 gr.)
Price: $5.50
Buy Here

Plant Me, I'll Grow












BLOOMING GREETING CARDS
These clever cards do more than just deliver a kind note to loved ones. Made of biodegradable paper from 100% post consumer junk mail, these seeded cards break down when planted and watered, leaving only the seeds left to grow. This set of four cards includes a pink "love" card, brown "friends" card, blue "happy birthday" card and yellow-green "thanks" card. A lovely surprise to give and receive. Made in Colorado. Sold as a set of four. Envelopes included. Cards size is 5.25" L x 4" W.
Price: $12
Buy Here

How Does Your Gift Tag Grow?

PLANTABLE GIFT TAGS
Should you send flowers or a gift? Why not both? This gift tags are made from 100% post-consumer paper and embedded with wildflower seeds, these gift tags allow the recipient to plant flowers instead of creating waste. This set of 12 comes with four Happy Day tags, four Happy Birthday tags and four Congratulations tags. Personal, eco-friendly and sure to be remembered as the gift that keeps on giving.

In addition these gift tags are "tree-free," and no trees were cut down to make this plantable paper. The base fiber is 100% post-consumer waste. And the paper is embedded with pure North American wildflower seeds by skilled papermakers in Winnipeg, Manitoba. Size is 4 x 2 inch.
Price: $15

Tuesday, June 16, 2009

Tweets - Three Little Birds on Bobby Pins

Three little birds are ready to perch in your hairdo. Whether they're pinned into a messy ponytail, decorating your updo, or keeping your cowlick in order, these tiny tweeters are sure to bring a smile your way when people spot them in your hair.

These are decorative, novelty foam birds on sturdy silvertone bobby pins. Each birdy bobby pin is a total of two inches (5 cm) long and is approximately 1/2 inch (1 cm) in height where the bird is perched.

You will receive three bobby pins in this set. Stick one in your side part, and give the others away to your adoring friends--or stick them all in your party hair and have some fun.
Price: $12
Buy Here

Knotted Line Necklace

Several feet of sterling wire have been hand woven, into and around itself and polished to a gleam. Creating these classic knots with a modern twist and a nautical texture. The "Knotted Line" hangs on an 18" sterling silver twisted rope chain. The knot itself measures 1/2 of an inch wide and is 3/4 of an inch long.
Price: $37.50
Buy Here

Handmade Gifts on etsy.com

I had heard of etsy for several years, but honestly did not know that the entire website is a site of handmade goods. A friend recently brought this to my attention. It was an 'ah ha' moment. What better gifts than those that are made by hand. I will be featuring some cool products.

I love the Treasury. I think it's a great way to see (and find) different artwork curated together. I also like the Featured Seller and the Quit Your Day Job (really inspirational). It's great reading the stories behind the artwork.

Clean Up Your Computing

The standard 200W PC running for 8 hours a day, 5 days a week, 50 weeks in a year, will use 400 kwh। Maybe not much considering the total energy usage of your household or business, but it's a great place to start cutting your carbon emissions and saving money!In comparison, the new breed of Green-PC's use an average of 30w, so in comparison to above it would only use 60 kwh। An energy saving of 85%! Next time you're looking at upgrading your current PC, consider the Eco-Friendly Option. It may mean a slight increase in outlay, but this will be recouped by the saving on your electricity bill! More info

5 Minute Candles

5 Minute Candles - 4 pack
How clever and cute are these? Perfect for celebrating happy, spontaneous moments and sharing memories with those around you.Designed to look like an ordinary book of matches but inside are 10 small candles. Candles can be lit as attached or you can break them off to put on a birthday cake or a cupcake. Carry them with you to celebrate someone’s birthday, engagement, or for an instant candle light dinner with your love. You’ll get 4 different books in different colors of pink, yellow, green, blue, in a pack. A pack contains 4 books. 2.25″ x 2.25″
Price: $6

Glass From The Past

A friend, Paula, sent me these adorable recycled wine glasses for my birthday. I love them so much I decided to blog about them! (Thanks Paula!) They came beautifully wrapped in a box full of recycled packing.

RECYCLED WINDSHIELD WINE GLASSES
Handmade in Colombia of recycled glass from old car windows, these substantial stemless wine glasses will add an interesting twist to any glass of wine. Sturdy and strong, the thick glass has a slight green hue from the tint originally added to lessen the sun's glare. Beautiful and interesting, these stemless wine glasses are an uncommon take on a stylish design. Each is one of a kind and will vary. Sold as a set of 2. These are made of recycled glass and are dishwasher safe. The sizes are 5.5" H, 18 oz.
Price: $22
Buy Here

Tuesday, June 9, 2009

green your office

The Bamboo Box: Holding the Key to a Sustainable Environment + your stuff. Don’t just love this box because it’s beautiful. Love it because bamboo is sustainable, durable and green! Unlike a tree, which can take years to replace, bamboo is a fast-growing grass that regenerates naturally.

Greening Your Office Book: Since we are all trying to lead a greener life at home, its time to share your knowledge and passion about health, wellness and a greener lifestyle with your co-workers and colleagues. Share Greening Your Office. You’ll make quick strides towards a healthier, more efficient and better place to get stuff done!

Klean Kanteen: is an attractive, stylish and reuseable stainless steel liquid container. These are some of the original stainless steel containers and they are made with serious concern for the environment and even more serious oversight of their manufacturing facilities in China. This ensures that the kanteens are produced under fair wage and environmentally friendly conditions. Not to mention they are BPA free and have wide spouts accepting ice cubes and easy cleaning

Bamboo Pen: Write down all that needs to be said using this bamboo pen. You will be able to trade away the plastic writing implements that bog us (and our landfills) down as you craft your new company environmental policy, or your speech about reducing your firm's carbon footprint.

"Green" Stationary: Write Your Messages On This Paper To Make A Point. This lush green stationary is actually recycled post-consumer content. Instead of writing on dead trees you are expressing yourself on gorgeous paper that expresses your need to go green.The paper is sourced and made in the USA at environmentally friendly mills and even the wrapping is biodegradable.
Price: $40
Buy Here

g-thanks - Grass Kit

Bring some green inside with this easy-growing, organic wheat grass kit! Just add water to promote your message of going green, and watch the little seeds grow into hearty blades of grass. Cutting is easy, just use your favorite pair of scissors! Kit includes the 16oz tin container, organic wheat grass seeds, and soil. Grow organic wheat grass at your desk! Made in USA. Package Size: Dimensions: 16 oz Container.
Price: $9.99
Buy Here

Thursday, June 4, 2009

100% Natural Organic Blush

Manufactured by Physicians Formula Organic wear™, this eco-chic blush is made with the finest Italian powder and naturally enhances and accentuates cheeks. Two shades blend together for a natural, blushing glow. Formulated with 16 percent certified organic ingredients, including jojoba seed oil and corn starch to moisturize and create a matte finish. Available in 6 shades. Includes natural goat hair brush. Free of parabens, GMOs, and synthetic preservatives, colors, and fragrances. Cruelty-free and packaged in a recyclable paper compact. (Certified by ECOCERT)
Price: $11.95
Buy Here (also sold in Target stores)

Ochre River Stone Mats

Smooth river stones in neutral tones add natural beauty and functional appeal to these eco-friendly mats. Use them next to a door or beside a shower. The mats are assembled from hand-gathered stones and securely attached to a weather tough backing. Each is unique, wonderfully tactile under foot, and artfully composed, as in a mosaic. 20"W X 29.5"L
Price: $59
Buy Here

Succulent Wreath

This green wreath is alive! Hand-assembled into five groups of green-gray, burgundy and silver succulents, the design of this living wreath features each plant's distinctive textures, leaf patterns, and colors. As eco-friendly as it is enchanting, the succulents include water-saving crassia, lichen and other unique yet compatible varieties that thrive with minimal watering every 3 to 10 weeks. WREATH 13"D, HANGER 13"L
Price: $98
Buy Here

Wednesday, June 3, 2009

Green Kitchen Cloths

I actually could not wait to test the Skoy Cloth, not only because the are eco/green, but because they are just too cute. I know, who cares if a kitchen cleaning cloth is cute, right? Well, believe it or not, most women do. If given the choice they will pick the "cute" cloth almost every time!

The Skoy Cloth is not only cute but turned out to be a fantastic product. They are 100% natural and biodegradeable (made from cotton and wood based pulp) and best of all they cleaned great and seem to last forever (well 3 months so far). They are strong, don't shred or lose fibres after multiple washings, and they don't fade or get smelly. They come in a rainbow of colors. I have two on the go at all times - one for dishes and counter wiping, the other for floor spills and other dirty jobs.
Price: $5.99 (4 pack)

Monday, June 1, 2009

Natural Citrus Play Dough

Clementine Art has the most wonderful eco-friendly kraft supplies for kids. They believe that natural, organic, and wholesale ingredients found in nature are best for children and the earth. All incgredients come from plant and mineral sources found in nature. You can find natural play dough, soy crayons, soy markers, and natural glue.

My grandaughters love anything they can get their hands into so I will be ordering some citrus dough for them instead of the regular play dough we usually buy them.

Nellie's Dryer Balls - Not so eco after all!

I almost ordered some of these and started researching them before placing my order. I am glad I did. I found this great article and had to repost this from UnTreeHugger: Nellie's Dryer Balls. The original article was written by Jasmin Malik Chua, Jersey City, USA on 09.18.07. I hope you enjoy it. It offers great info on the dry balls.

We've been seeing Nellie's dryer balls and their various knockoffs throwing around their purportedly eco-friendly clout everywhere lately, even on green shopping sites and environmental blogs we know and love. (We even tried to correct these misguided claims on one of those deal-a-day sites, but our comments were deleted and ignored. Dude, harsh.)

The concept behind them is well-meaning: The dryer balls are meant to take the place of fabric softeners, which recent studies have revealed contain cancer-causing and neurotoxic solvents such as toluene and styrene. What the manufacturers fail to mention, however, is that the the polyvinyl chloride (PVC) material the supposedly "nontoxic" dryer balls are made of is one of the most poisonous plastics ever created, posing great environmental and health hazards in its manufacture, product life, and disposal.

Hydrochloric acid, cancer-causing dioxins, and other persistent pollutants are spewed into the air, water, and land when PVC is being manufactured, resulting in chronic and severe health problems such as cancer, neurological damage, endometriosis, neurological damage, birth defects, and liver and kidney damage. The dioxin exposure of the average American far exceeds the usual standard for acceptable risk; dioxins also concentrate in breast milk, with babies now receiving high doses at orders of magnitude greater than those of the average adult.
Toxic additives and chemical stabilizers such as lead, cadmium, and di(2-ethylhexyl) phthalate (a suspected carcinogen that is known to cause a host of reproductive and developmental defects), leach, flake, or off-gas from the PVC throughout its life. (Nellie's Dryer Balls are also made in China, which hasn't had the best record of late with lead safety.)
And because PVC cannot be easily recycled, it's either landfilled, where it leaches chemicals or incinerated, releasing dioxin and heavy metals again.

Eco-friendly? Nellie's Dryer Balls could not be further from it. ::Nellie's Laundry

Energy-Saving Deluxe Floor Lamp

We just bought this full specturm floor lamp. The style was based on lamp designs premiered at the St. Louis Exposition in 1904, the Brookfield™ Deluxe Full Spectrum Lamp takes the traditional reading lamp to a new level and is a perfect combination of antique styling and 21st century efficiency. The bulb last 6 years! They forgot to send the "included bulb" with the original box. I emailed them and got a very nice email back saying they were sorry and would send one right away, which they did.

some features we like about this lamp:

  • 10,000 hour bulb saves $100 in energy when compared to incandescent bulbs; delivering 150Watt equivalent of bright white light while using only 26W of power
  • glare reduction system provides unrivaled reading comfort without eyestrain
  • Lamp head swivels 360ΒΊ to shine full spectrum light exactly where you need it most
  • 3 attractive finishes to match any decor: Nordic Bronze, Brushed Nickel, Aged Bronze
  • backed by a 1-year limited warranty
  • Energy-efficient technology helps reduce greenhouse emissions
  • Flicker Elimination Technology® which adjusts light output 20,000 time each second so your eyes relax
  • Ergonomic design that allows easy height and light direction

Price: $149.95
Buy Here

Thursday, May 28, 2009

Eco Cleaners that are Truly "ECO"

We can all do are part to help our air quality and let's hope you start in our own home. Below are some eco-friendly alternatives to you everyday cleaners. The Mint Window Cleaner by Method Home is amazing! AND did you know that conventional glass cleaners can contain potentially nerve-damaging chemicals like butyl cellosolve and ammonia??? I know - scary, huh!

Method Mint Window Cleaner try instead of Windex.
Earth Friendly Furniture Polish never usePledge again.
Caldrea Powdered Scrub no more need for Ajax.
Seventh Generation Chlorine-Free Bleach is the new bleach.
Mrs. Meyer's Countertop Cleaner use it just like 409.
Safe Home Products SH-Mop better than your old Swiffer mop.
Starfiber Miracle Cloth use them just like your old Lysol Wipes.

Wednesday, May 27, 2009

Girl Put Your Records On!

Recycled LP Coasters
LP Coasters are each created from an original record, which has been trimmed to frame the label with a thin ring of black vinyl. Each coaster is double-sided (as were records) and laminated to protect the labels from moisture and to prevent scuffs on furniture. Coaster sets are comprised of six assorted vintage record labels and packed in a clear round box. Assorted labels only (sorry, no choice of artist or genre). 4" dia. Made in USA.
Price: $19.95

YOU can make a difference!

Thanks to globalization our world is becoming smaller and it is more apparent how intertwined actions and habits of ALL people are playing out on our planet. Most people don't think it really helps if they recycle, consume less energy, or become an advocate for their planet because they feel as though it is just them (1 person) doing it. Honestly, one single person is the key! Every great idea started with 1 person. Everyone must put aside the feeling of being the only one doing it and simply do all they can to reduce their carbon footprint, energy consumption, global impact, and before you know it, the actions of all humanity combined will create a dramatic and tangible change in the green movement of the planet. What are you waiting for? Get started today!

How much greener are soy inks?

Q. What’s so great about soy-based ink? I didn’t even know regular ink was bad for the environment. –Aimee, Tulsa OK

A. Soy-based inks do have a smaller environmental impact than do traditional, petroleum-based inks, says Sevim Erhan, PhD, a Department of Agriculture chemist who researched soy ink as part of the USDA’s attempt to address a soybean surplus in the 1980s and 90s. Manufacturing traditional ink is a pretty dirty business—it produces a lot of pollutants called volatile organic compounds, or VOC’s. Soy ink produces a lot less. Plus, when it comes time to recycle, paper printed with soy ink is a lot easier to de-ink, and anything that makes recycling less energy-intensive and more cost effective is a good thing.
It’s worth noting, though, that most inks out there labeled with the “SoySeal” do have at least some petroleum-based oil in them, and that the actual soy content in some types might be as little as 6 or 7 percent, according to the labeling standards set up by the American Soybean Council. Newspapers can actually be easily be printed with a high soybean oil content ink; 90 percent of US papers choose it—probably not because they’re particularly environmentally-conscious, but because it’s a practical, affordable option for them. Greeting cards, wrapping paper, and posters also lend themselves to soy-ink-printing. We’ve even heard tell of soy-based tattoos. Magazine printing, on the other hand, is less soy-friendly. Since the magazine-compatible soy inks on the market today contain pretty high percentages of petroleum, Plenty has elected to forgo soy ink for our print magazine for the time being. We use soy-ink for all of our office stuff, though!

But a good general rule of thumb is to choose soy-based inks over petroleum-base ones, whenever possible. Fewer VOC’s will wind up in the atmosphere, and you’ll be helping to make it easier to recycle paper.
Eco-inquiries, conundrums, snafus? Write to askplenty@plentymag.com.
MORE INFO:

Tuesday, May 26, 2009

Organic Shirts by Blue Canoe

Get dressed once and go thought the day. Blue Canoe. Simply designed, organically grown cotton clothing with an effortless sense of style. Never leave your comfort zone.

Swirl Tee S244
The colorful swirls on our first graphic tee were artist designed especially for Blue Canoe. Printed on our ever-popular tissue tee. Lightweight 90/10 organic cotton/spandex. Latex free. Available in 3 colors (black, cornflower, and palm).
Price $39

Organic Shoes - yay hooray!

Simple 'Cushee' Flip Flops

Simple uses sustainable textiles such as recycled plastics, organic cotton, cork, hemp, jute, bamboo, recycled tires and inner tubes, natural rubber crepe, latex and felted wool to make their shoes.


In addition, they respect internationally recognized human rights and environmental standards and place them at the core of their business practices.
* Hemp webbing uppers
* Wavy EVA topsole
* EVA midsole
* Recycled rubber outsole for durability
* This shoe contains no animal byproducts or even regular animal products ¦ vegan and veggie friendly.
* Uses water-based cements
* Colors: Sand with Blush or Chocolate with Adriatic Blue
* Ships in a biodegradable bag - dig it, bury it, buh-bye
* 100% post consumer paper pulp foot forms
* Available in whole sizes only ¦ If between sizes go 1/2 size up.

Price $25.00

just ordered a Dell Mini!

I just ordered a Dell Mini in jade-green. I can take my blogging home with me now :) I can not wait to get it. I will blog about it once I get it. It is scheduled to ship June 16th. Not really sure why it will take that long but I am really excited for it to get here.

Includes: Inspiron 910 Intel Atom processor N270, 1.6GHz, 533Mhz512K L2 Cache, JADE GREEN Color with Gloss Finish, GB DDR2 SDRAM,1 DIMM, 8.9 inch Wide Screen WSVGA TLLCD, Intel Graphics Media Accelerator (GMA) 950, 16GB Solid State Drive (mini-card Module/PATA), Genuine Windows XP Home Edition, Dell Video Chat, Dell Support Center Software 32 Bit 2.0, You have chosen a Windows XP System, Box.net online backup and filesharing 1.0, Windows Live Search,Multiple User Interface, ADOBE READER 9.0 MULTI- LANGUAGE, Base LCD Assembly, Wireless 802.11g Mini Card, Integrated 1.3M Pixel Webcam, Dell WebCam Central, Norton Internet Security 30-Day, Multi-Language, 32WHr 4-cell Battery, No ISP requested, Microsoft Works 9.0, English For Inspiron, Dell Hardware Warranty Plus Onsite Service, Initial Year, At Home Service, 24x7 TechnicalSupport, Initial Year, Soft Contracts - Banctec, 1 Year Limited Warranty, No Warranty, Year 2 and 3, Warranty Support,Initial Year, Standard On-Site Installation Declined, S and P Drop-in-Box Marcom forDHS Notebooks, Non-WWAN Base in Green

Friday, May 22, 2009

Recycled Candy-Wrapper Purse

This adorably chic shoulder bag has it all - spacious interior, colorful exterior, and functional shoulder strap to bring you from day to night. An essential for any Ecoist - Don't leave home without it. Made by Ecoist.


• Made from recycled newspapers coated with cellophane.

• Strong, sturdy, and water resistant.

• Plastic shoulder strap

• Zip close. Self-lined.

• 10L x 5H x 1.5W (inches)

Price $48
Buy here